Book Review: Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy

This is the first nonfiction book I’ve read on my own volition for quite a while. The first thing I noticed about
this volume is its size. It’s 542 pages long! I had to ask myself if I really wanted to get involved with such a long book. And I worried it might be boring. I was half-right. The prologue is a good set-up, but then the first 150-200 pages are a drag. Only when the conflict heats up does the book get better. Now on to how the book is set up. The actual biography is bookended by the Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s parents listening to his memorial service on the radio. All along the way were “flash-forwards” where the book would hint to future happenings or tell how someone became an important figure in Bonhoeffer’s life. And I must say, Dietrich Bonhoeffer was definitely an amazing person. He went through a lot, from ridicule to imprisonment to execution. He participated in many underground activities and was even part of a conspiracy against Hitler. I won’t say any more, because I don’t want to spoil it! Due to the wide range of experiences and topics that are covered, I’d recommend this to anyone, and give it 4 out of 5 points. If you’ve got the time, check for it at the library. If
you love studying history, you might want a copy for yourself.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment